

Blue Collar Conservatism 5 Cann Street Cann Street Bury Lancashire BL8 3PE

Lord Hall of Birkenhead CBE Director General British Broadcasting Corporation Broadcasting House Portland Place London W1A 1AA

Friday 17 July 2020

Dear Lord Hall of Birkenhead

Ref: LICENCE FEE FOR PEOPLE AGED 75 AND OVER

We are writing to express our disappointment at the BBC's decision to scrap free TV licences for most people over the age of 75 from the 1st August 2020 and urge you to reconsider this decision.

When millions of elderly Britons have been asked to stay at home during the global COVID-19 crisis, the timing of this announcement could not have been worse. Frankly, it is a kick in the teeth for millions of over-75s who have had a torrid time in lockdown.

We welcome the BBC's commitment to protecting the people who would find it most difficult to pay by continuing to cover the licences of those eligible for Pension Credit. However, this is not good enough and the cost of this proposed scheme is considerably less than you have been contributing already to free TV licences for the over 75s.

The BBC's annual income is £5 billion. Why, then, is this announcement necessary? We question the need for the BBC to allocate the enormous sum of £100 million on diversity, which with strong management could be achieved for minimal cost. Reducing the excessive salaries of your highest-paid stars and executives would also provide ample financial respite.

The fact that you have prioritised pensioners to take the brunt of your cost-savings shows how detached you have become from your viewers.

Now is not the time to scrap free TV licences for over-75s. Please do reconsider. We would welcome the chance to discuss this with you in person.

Yours sincerely

Jonathan Gullis MP, Stoke-on-Trent North

Imran Ahmad Khan MP, Wakefield Sir David Amess MP, Southend West Lee Anderson MP, Ashfield Sarah Atherton MP, Wrexham Shaun Bailey MP, West Bromwich West Duncan Baker MP, North Norfolk Simon Baynes MP, Clwyd South Aaron Bell MP, Newcastle-under-Lyme Scott Benton MP, Blackpool South Peter Bone MP, Wellingborough Ben Bradley MP, Mansfield Paul Bristow MP, Peterborough Andy Carter MP, Warrington South Brendan Clarke-Smith MP, Bassetlaw Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP, The Cotswolds Philip Davies MP, Shipley Dr James Davies MP, Vale of Clwyd Dehenna Davison MP, Bishop Auckland Richard Drax MP, South Dorset Rt Hon Sir Iain Duncan Smith MP, Chingford and Woodford Green Mark Eastwood MP, Dewsbury Michael Fabricant MP, Lichfield Simon Fell MP, Barrow and Furness Nick Fletcher MP, Don Valley Rt Hon Mark Francois MP, Rayleigh and Wickford Marcus Fysh MP, Yeovil

Peter Gibson MP, Darlington Rt Hon Dame Cheryl Gillan MP, Chesham and Amersham Rt Hon Robert Goodwill MP, Scarborough and Whitby James Gray MP, North Wiltshire Kate Griffiths MP, Burton Rt Hon Robert Halfon MP, Harlow Simon Hoare MP, North Dorset Richard Holden MP, North West Durham Paul Howell MP, Sedgefield Tom Hunt MP, Ipswich Mark Jenkinson MP, Workington Daniel Kawczyński MP, Shrewsbury Pauline Latham OBE MP, Mid Derbyshire Andrew Lewer MBE MP, Northampton South Chris Loder MP, West Dorset Mark Logan MP, Bolton North East Marco Longhi MP, Dudley North Tim Loughton MP, East Worthing and Shoreham Craig Mackinlay MP, South Thanet Anthony Mangnall MP, Totnes Karl McCartney MP, Lincoln Jason McCartney, Colne Valley Rt Hon Esther McVey MP, Tatton Robbie Moore MP, Keighley Dr Kieran Mullan MP, Crewe and Nantwich Lia Nici MP, Great Grimsby

Tom Randall MP, Gedling Andrew Rosindell MP, Romford Dean Russell MP, Watford Greg Smith MP, Buckingham Alexander Stafford MP, Rother Valley Bob Stewart MP, Beckenham James Sunderland MP, Bracknell Matt Vickers MP, Stockton South Martin Vickers MP, Cleethorpes Christian Wakeford MP, Bury South Jamie Wallis MP, Bridgend Heather Wheeler MP, South Derbyshire Jacob Young MP, Redcar